All Progressives Congress, APC, exercises power and keeps its governorship seats in Imo and Kogi States in three off-season elections.

The ruling party prevailed in the 11 November Imo and Kogi governorship elections, but lost to opposition PDP in Bayelsa.

In Imo State, Gov Hope Uzodinma bulldozed his way back to power, crushing a spirited challenge from Labour and PDP.

It was a contentious election, filled with accusations of vote buying, rigging, violence and intimidation by security men.

INEC however declared APC’s Uzodimma winner with 540,308 votes.

Returning officer Abayomi Sunday, vice chancellor of the Federal University Oye Ekiti in Ekiti State, announced PDP’s Samuel Anyanwu runner up with 71,503 votes.

Popular Labour candidate, Athan Achonu, could only poll 64,081 votes, according to the INEC returning officer.

Imo Labour and the PDP promptly rejected the INEC result and called for cancellation of the election.

Abayomi announced the result on Sunday 12 November, a day after the polls.

APC also won Kogi

INEC also called the Kogi State election for the All Progressives Congress, when its candidate, Usman Ododo, was announce winner.

INEC said Ododo polled 446,237 votes to beat the more popular Murtala Ajaka of the Social Democratic Party who had 259,052 votes. PDP’s Dino Melaye came a distant third with 46,362 votes.

Yesterday, INEC announced 18 November as new date to conduct fresh polls in Ogori/Magongo LGA but went ahead to call the election immediately after, leaving citizens scratching their heads.

PDP candidate, Dino Melaye, said the election was “shameful” and called for cancellation like his counterpart in Imo State.

“It is shameful that the unhealthy INEC refuse to realise, ameliorate or palliate the problems they created in the last presidential and governorship elections,” he said.

On his own, SDP’s Ajaka who was projected to win said INEC wrote the results before polling began.

Voters return Gov Diri in Bayelsa

Bayelsa votes renewed the mandate of Governor Douye Diri for four more years, as INEC declared him winner of the 11 November polls

Returning Officer Faruq Kuta, VC of Federal University of Technology Minna, said Diri polled 175,196 votes to beat APC’s Timipre Sylva who received 110,108 votes.

He said Labour Party received a measly 905 votes.

Slug: APC keeps governorship seats in Imo and Kogi States

If you love this, share the knowledge with others