Former Senator Margery Okadigbo replaces Chief Ifeanyi Ararume as NNPC Board Chair in a surprise presidency announcement today, 5 January.

Dame Margery is widow of late Senate President, Dr. Chuba Okadigbo. Similarly, she represented Anambra North in the Senate between 2012 and 2015.

Presidential spokesperson, Femi Adesina announced members of the newly constituted board in a statement.

Serving alongside Mrs. Okadigbo on the new board are NNPC Chief Executive, Mele Kyari, and Corporation’s Chief Financial Officer, Umar Ajiya.

Others members of the Board selected to represent regional political interests are as follows:

Dr. Tajudeen UmarNorth East
Lami AhmedNorth Central
Mohammed LawalNorth West
Henry ObihSouth East
Constance MarshalSouth South
Chief Pius AkinyelureSouth West

Chief Ararume is the only one dropped from a prior list of Board members announced on 24 September 2021.

Mr Adesina’s statement was silent on what prompted the presidency to upgrade Mrs. Okadigbo and throw Chief Ararume out.

Last year, Adesina himself stoutly defended Ararume as Board chair and dismissed those who criticized his choice.

He described Ararume, also a former Senator, as an “influential politician, shrewd businessman and budding egghead.”

His choice for the chairmanship, Adesina said, “satisfies the basic parameters of quality, soundness, suitability and, perhaps, political net worth, sagacity and knowledge.”

Other board appointments

Mr Adesina also today announced Executive Commissioners to regulate upstream, midstream and downstream operations.

The Executive Commissioners of the Nigerian Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Commission are

Isa Modibo*AdamawaBoard Chairman
Gbenga Komolafe*OndoCEO
Rose Ndong*PlateauExploration and Acreage Management
Hassan Gambo*AdamawaFinance and Accounts
Dr Nuhu HabibKanoDevelopment & Production
Dr Kelechi OfoegbuImoEconomic Regulations and Strategic Planning
Captain Tonlagha JohnDeltaHealth, Safety, Environment and Community
Jide AdeolaKogiCorporate Services and Administration
*appointed in 2021

Commissioners for the Nigerian Midstream and Downstream Petroleum Regulatory Authority include

Idaere Ogan*RiversBoard Chairman
Sarki Auwalu*KanoCEO
Ogbugo Ukoha*AbiaExecutive Director, Downstream Systems, Storage and Retailing Infrastructure
Abiodun Adeniji*LagosExecutive Director, Finance and Account
Francis OgareeRiversExecutive Director, Hydrocarbon Processing
Mustapha LamordeAdamawaExecutive Director, Health, Safety, Environment and Community
Mansur KuliyaKanoExecutive Director, Midstream and Downstream Gas Infrastructure Fund
Bashir SadiqSokotoExecutive Director, Corporate Services and Administration
Dr Zainab GobirKwaraExecutive Director, Economic Regulations and Strategic Planning
* Appointed in 2021

For Midstream and Downstream Infrastructure Fund, the new Council Members are

Effiong AbiaAkwa Ibom
Bobboi AhmedAdamawa
Abdullahi BukarKatsina

Margery Okadigbo replaces Ararume

If you love this, click a button below to share the knowledge