A set of Enugu Local Govt Chairmen to run the affairs of the Councils in Emugu State were elected on 29 February 2020.

They were sworn in by the State Governor, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, on Monday, 2 March 2020, at a carnival-like ceremony at Michael Okpara Square, Enugu.

There are 17 local government areas in Enugu State (see list below).

Incidentally, the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the State won election in all of the 17 councils together with all councillors.

At least one political party rejected the results, saying there were lots of irregularities that attended the voting and counting of ballot.

Barely three months after being sworn in, it was reported that the chairman of Nsukka LGA, Chief Pat Omeje died suddenly on 15 June 2020.

His former deputy, Barr. Cosmas Ibeziako Ugwueze, was subsequently sworn in two weeks later as substantive chair on 29 June 2020.

The names of Enugu State Local Government Chairmen as at December 2020 are as follows

  • Aninri                       Hon Ezekiel Chukwu
  • Awgu                        Hon. Pedro O. Nwankwo
  • Enugu East              Hon. Alex O. Ugwu
  • Enugu North           Hon. Emeka Onunze
  • Enugu South           Hon. Monday Eneh
  • Ezeagu                     Hon. Chukwudi M. Ani
  • Igbo-Etiti                 Hon Nkechi Ugwu-Oju (Mrs.)
  • Igboeze North         Hon. Ejike W. Itodo
  • Igboeze South         Hon. Peter Andy Omeje
  • Isi-Uzo                      Hon. Jacob Abonyi
  • Nkanu East              Hon. Abel Uchenna Nwobodo
  • Nkanu West             Chief Nwabueze Nnamani
  • Nsukka                     Hon. Cosmas I. Ugwueze
  • Oji River                   Hon. Franklin Udemezue
  • Udenu                       Hon. Solomon I. Onah
  • Udi                             Hon. Ifeanyi Agu, and
  • Uzo-Uwani               Hon. Chukwudi Nnadozie

Names of new Local Govt Council chairmen, Enugu State

If you love this, share the knowledge with others

Latest Posts

National News Feed