The opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, clears 15 of its 17 presidential aspirants.

A panel headed by former Senate President David Mark however rejected two aspirants for not meeting the requirements.

He listed the requirements as party membership, nationality, qualifications, evidence of tax clearance, possesion of voters card and financial capacity.

Mark neither disclosed their identities nor volunteered which of the criteria knocked them out.

He however said they could contest their disqualification through the party’s appeal process.

PDP clears 15 presidential aspirants
Sen Mark

“Now don’t ask me those who have been cleared and those who have not been cleared because I won’t tell you.

“We haven’t released the result to them. So if you ask questions in that direction, you’re wasting time.

“We’re quite satisfied with the standard of the aspirants by and large. And we think that any one of them who gets the ticket would win the election in 2023.”

The party mopped up N646 million from the sale of forms to the 17 presidential aspirants.

Each of the 16 male aspirants paid N35million to purchase nomination forms and N5million for the expression of interest forms.

The lone female among them, Tariela Diana Oliver, however paid N5million for nomination and N1million for the interest form.

2023 PDP presidential aspirants

The 17 aspirants interviewed by the panel include

1. Atiku AbubakarAdamawaFormer Vice President
2. Anyim Pius AnyimEbonyiFormer Senate President, Secretary to Federal Govt
3. Nwachukwu AnakwenzeAnambraUS-based medical doctor
4. Udom EmmanuelAkwa IbomCurrent Governor of Akwa Ibom State
5. Ayodele FayoseEkitiFormer Governor of Ekiti State
6. Mohammed Hayatu-DeenBornoInvestment banker
7. Chikwendu KaluAbiaFormer Speaker, Abia State House of Assembly
8. Dele MomoduEdoMagazine Publisher
9. Bala MohammedBauchiCurrent Bauch State Governor and former Minister
10. Cosmos NdukweAbiaformer Deputy Speaker, Abia State House of Assembly
11. Peter ObiAnambraFormer Governor of Anambra State
12. Sam OhuabunwaImoPharmacist and business leader
13. Tareila Diana OliverBayelsa
14. Olusola SarakiKwaraformer Governor, former Senate President
15. Aminu TambuwalSokotoCurrent Sokoto State Governor
16. Charles UgwuEnuguLawyer and businessman
17. Nyesom Wike RiversCurrent Governor of Rivers State & former Minister
Register here