League champions Akwa United leads three other teams flying Nigerian flag in the 2021-2022 African football championships.

Others are AITEO (FA) Cup champions Bayelsa United and two League runners-up Rivers United and Enyimba Club of Aba.

It turned out to be almost a clean sweep for the Eastern clubs.

Akwa United CAF Champions
Rivers UnitedCAF Champions
Bayelsa UnitedCAF Confederations
Enyimba ClubCAF Confederations
Nassarawa CAF Confederations

The indomitable Enugu Rangers is unfortunately excluded based on poor performance that placed it behind six other teams.

Teams that did better include Rivers United(63), Kano Pillars(64), Nassarawa United(65), Kwara United(65), Enyimba(66), and the league Champions Akwa United(71 points).

Ordinarily, Enyimba of Aba having defeated Dakkada on the last match at Uyo, should have been second on the log with 66 points.

However, 10 minutes into its final game, report of a Disciplinary Committee of the LMC turned the tables against Enyimba.

The report indicted Jigawa Golden Stars for fielding an ineligible player in their match against Rivers United.

The Committee therefore awarded 3 goals and 3 points to Rivers United in line with the LMC legal framework.

When the three points and three goals were therefore added to Rivers United, the club emerged second!

Furthermore, Rivers United will therefore be playing in CAF Champions League alongside champions Akwa United.

Enyimba will now play in CAF Confederation Cup with the Aiteo (FA) Cup winners, Bayelsa United.

Bayelsa wins AITEO Cup

The finals of the Aiteo (FA) Cup final was played last Sunday, 7 August, 2021 between Nassarawa United Football Club of Lafia and Bayelsa United Football Club of Yenegoa.

The match played at the Samuel Ogbomudia Stadium, Benin City ended 2-2 at the end of 90 minutes.

The subsequent penalty shootout eventually favoured Bayelsa United which scored three against Nassarawa two.

Final scores were 5-4 in favour of Bayelsa.

Bayelsa United and Enyimba/Kwara United will represent Nigeria in CAF Confederation Cup this season.

Slug: 5 teams flying Nigerian flag in the 2021-2022 Africa football championships.