President Bola Tinubu dissolves the Margery Okadigbo-led NNPCL Board and reconstitutes a new one with Chief Pius Akinyelure as Chairman.

Renowned lawyer and public administrator, Chief David Ogbodo, represents the Southeast on the new Board.

Presidential spokesperson, Ajuri Ngelale, said in a statement that the new Board and Management for the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited (NNPCL) will assume duties on 1 December 2023.

The President constituted the board in compliance with Section 59 (2) of the Petroleum Industry Act, 2021, he said.

The Executive Directors include Malam Mele Kolo Kyari who continues in office as Group Chief Executive Officer and Alhaji Umar Isa Ajiya as Chief Financial Officer.

Apart from Akinyelure and Ogbodo, other new non-executive directors include Messrs Ledum Mitee, Musa Tumsa, and Ghali Muhammad

Also announced as Non-Executive Directors are Prof Mustapha Aliyu, and Ms. Eunice Thomas.

The Okadigbo-led Board was appointed January 2022 and would have completed two years by next month December.

New Permanent Secretaries

Ngelale also announced yesterday that Tinubu approved the appointment and deployment of two new permanent secretaries. They are Mr. Okokon Ekanem Udo and Amb. Gabriel Aduda.

Ekanem Udo resumes at the Federal Ministry of Finance while Amb. Gabriel Aduda is assigned to the Ministry of Petroleum Resources.

Tinubu urged the appointees to “comply with the performance-driven and results-oriented mandate of his Renewed Hope administration in the implementation of energy policy.”

Tinubu dissolves NNPCL Board

If you love this, click a button below to share the knowledge