To prepare for a new issuance regime that takes off 1 June 2021, federal authorities suspend new Nigeria passport applications.

The suspension takes effect from today 18 May, Immigration boss, Muhammed Babandede announcement at a press briefing today in Abuja.

Passport officers will use the the two-week window to clear backlog of applications received by yesterday, 17 May.

Interior Minister Alhaji Rauf Aregbesola, issued the directives yesterday Monday, Bandede said.

The new passport regime improves efficiency and ethical services, the Minister said last month as he announced the new regime.

Among the enhancements are the creation of special centres that will fast-track special services to passport applicants.

A pilot Centre has been established in Abuja with 10 other offices planned to take off before 30 May, he had said.

The goal of the new measures is to ensure that applications are processed, and that citizens receive their passports within six weeks.

He described this as the gold standard for international passport applications worldwide.

Six weeks should be enough to investigate and validate applicants’ personal information, he said.

Alhaji Aregbesola also said that queries raised for each application will be communicated to the applicant at least a week before collection date.

Beginning from 1 June, applicants will have no further access to passport officers, once their applications are completed and submitted.

Each applicant is expected to apply and leave the venue while subsequent correspondences will be made electronically, the Minister said.

Future communications about date for collection of passports or issues with the applications will be communicated electronically, he said..

The Immigration department will also publish a list of processed applications that are yet to be collected by applicants. Their owners are expected to visit state command offices to collect them.


To prepare for a new issuance regime taking off 1 June, federal authorities suspend new Nigeria passport applications from today 18 May 2021.