…announces 9,855 cases

The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) has commissioned another molecular testing laboratory built by the Bauchi State Government to ramp up its testing capacity for the Covid19 in Nigeria.

Bauchi State Governor, Dr. Bala Mohammed, was full of praises for the North East Development Commission and citizens of the State who assisted the government in setting up the facility.

The Bauchi laboratory brings the number of testing laboratories in the country to 29 with two more to be opened shortly in Yola and Kwara States, NCDC said.

This has also diversified the testing and deepened Nigeria’s capacity to test diseases, with each of the six regions having at least three centres for testing.

South East conducts tests from laboratories located in three of its five states – the Federal University Laboratory at Abakalike and two other accredited laboratories located in Owerri (Imo) and Nnewi (Anambra).

To date, a total of 60,825 tests have been conducted nationwide, out of which less than a fifth tested positive.

#NCDC Announces 9,855 cases of #Covid-19InNigeria

NCDC put the number of positive cases in Nigeria at 9,855 cases out of which 2,856 patients fully recovered and have been discharged from isolation centres while 273 persons died from the disease.

The figures were collated from 35 states and the Federal Capital Territory, leaving out Cross River which has remained the only state that the virus is yet to touch.

A further breakdown of the figures shows that the spread in Lagos is yet to be arrested; 378 new cases were reported yesterday from the state alone, representing 68 percent of new cases confirmed by NCDC.

Of the 159 cases discharged in 15 states and the FCT yesterday, seven states discharged 10 and above cases each.

They include Jigawa (31), Lagos (21), Ogun (18), Katsina (17),  Yobe (16), FCT (11) and Kaduna (10).

Others were Kano (8), Borno (5), Rivers (4), Gombe and Sokoto (3 each), Oyo and Delta (2 each) and Plateau and Bayelsa (1 each).

A toal of 12 persdeaths were recorded across seven states including Lagos and FCT (3 each), Kano (2), and Borno, Jigawa, Rivers and Gombe (1 each).

The 553 new cases came from Lagos (378), FCT (52), Delta (23), Edo (22), Rivers (14), Ogun (13), Kaduna (12), Kano (9), Borno (7), Katsina (6), Jigawa (5), Oyo (5), Yobe (3), Plateau (3), and Osun (1).