Nigeria resumes international flights
Travel & Tours

Nigeria resumes international flights on 29 August

Nigeria resumes international flights on 29 August 2020, Aviation Minister Hadi Sirika, announced today 17 August in Abuja.


Director-General, Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority, Musa Nuhu, on Thursday 27 August, cancelled the date. He said at a briefing of the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19 in Abuja, that international flights would resume on 5 September 2020. There are outstanding issues to sort out, he explained

He tweeted it shortly after breaking the news at the briefing of the federal task force managing Nigeria’s Covid-19 pandemic.

The first flights take off from Lagos and Abuja international airports , in a phased reopening process, he said.

Nigerian international Flights incidentally resume two days before the announced reopening of the Akanu Ibiam International Airport Enugu.

Nigeria completed the ban on international flights on Monday, 23 March 2020.

How this news will promote international travel is however unclear because of flight restrictions around the world.

Complications on the way range from individual country bans to Covid19 protocols, including presentation of Covid19 test certificates.

Qatar Airways and Emirates have said  that a test certificate must be 72 hours old and from a reputable laboratory.

Foreign Airlines have been promoting travel packages and accepting payments for travel from Nigerians in anticipation of this news. The US Embassy warned Nigerian travelers in a statement about buying these tickets because of the Nigerian ban.

Nigeria’s popular destinations are Europe, UAE and the United States.

Although the UK has not banned Nigeria flights, the EU has restrictions on Africa with the exception of four countries.

The four African countries from where travel to EU countries are allowed are Algeria, Rwanda, Tunisia, and Morocco.

Apart from Algeria, France, however, allows travelers from South Africa and Madagascar to land, if they present Covid19 test certificates

African countries are however not on the list of travel restrictions imposed by the US on 15 June 2020. The list includes China, Iran, European Schengen area, United Kingdom, Republic of Ireland, Brazil.

Slug: Nigeria resumes international flights